Church of St. Nicholas (1973)

AKA Russian Church – Juneau

From the book "Juneau: A Book of Woodcuts"



Woodcut

Dale DeArmond

Unlimited Edition

Unknown proofs were produced


Print size: 14" x 18"

Image size: 11 ⅞" x 14 ¼"


The little Greek Orthodox church was built in 1893 – by some happy chance a perfect little jewel of a building, harmonious and pleasing. It stands at Fifth and Gold Streets, very shabby now but still charming. Services are held there occasionally but parishioners grow fewer every year. At one time it was well attended by devout Slavonian miners come to work in the big Alaska-Juneau mine, as well as by the native people who had been converted to the Greek Orthodox faith by the Russian priests. Some of these priests remained in Alaska after the transfer (text from 1973).


Original price: $30.00