On left, the 1984 edition, and the 2006 edition on the right. It is these editions that contain DeArmond's illustrations. Photo courtesy of Tenenbaum.

Dena'ina Sukdu'a:

Traditional Stories of the Tanaina Athabascans (1976)


Translated and compiled by Joan Tenenbaum;
Contains (12) twelve color woodcut illustrations by Dale DeArmond
Edition of 400 (1976 version)
Edition of 1000 (1984 version)

272 pages

Commonly known as the Nondalton Legends series.

Click here for more information on this series.

Available from the Valdez Museum Historical Archive

Click here for information and to purchase.

Available from the University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF), Alaska Native Language Center.

Click here for information and to purchase.

1976 edition, which consisted of 4 volumes. Photo courtesy of Joan Tenenbaum.